Georgia DUI Law

I was arrested for DUI. What should I do now?

Call an attorney right away. Driving under the influence is a serious offense and could result in jail time, loss of your right to drive, and expensive fines. Drawing on over 25 years of experience as a criminal defense attorney and former prosecutor, Gregory Hicks and his associates can help avoid or lessen all of these effects.

How soon after my arrest should I contact an attorney?

Right away. You may have only ten days to save your license from being suspended for up to one year.

In addition to saving your license, contacting an attorney immediately is the key to the best defense possible. Defending against a DUI charge requires the attorney to gather lots of facts from the client–facts that are often forgotten by the client as time goes by. It also requires the attorney to preserve key evidence which may be lost if you wait.

What is the 10 day rule and what should I do about it?

In Georgia, when you obtain a driver’s license, you agree to submit to a breath test if officers believe you are driving under the influence (commonly called “implied consent”.) When you refuse to submit to a breath test, or when you do so but you “blow” above the legal limit (.08), the State of Georgia may suspend your license for up to one year unless you appeal and request a hearing within ten days following your arrest. This suspension happens through an “administrative” agency of the State and this appeal is separate from your criminal charges. Gregory Hicks and his associates can appeal this automatic suspension for you and help maintain your right to drive.

If I am convicted of DUI, what punishment could I face?

According to Georgia law, all DUI convictions require mandatory jail time, a fine and fees in excess of $1,000, numerous hours of community service, and suspension of your driver’s license. In addition to the “legal punishment”, a DUI conviction has other practical effects on your life as well–including increased insurance premiums, loss of employment opportunities, and financial stress. In Cherokee County, for example, Judges often impose the maximum fine and fees for a DUI conviction. Through experience and vigorous advocacy, Gregory Hicks and his associates can help you defeat a DUI charge and it’s consequences.

How can an attorney defend against a DUI charge?

There are numerous defenses or arguments to be made in a DUI case. For example, officers are required to conduct the roadside tests or “standardized field sobriety tests” in a very specific manner. Gregory A. Hicks has attended specialized seminars to learn how these tests are supposed to be conducted. Often, when we read the report or view a video, we see that an officer failed to  properly administer the field sobriety tests, thus putting the credibility or results of the tests in question. In addition, officers also must be able to articulate a reasonable suspicion that you were committing or were about to commit a crime before they can stop your vehicle. If officers are unable to do so, then any evidence obtained by the police after an unlawful arrest is inadmissible against you at trial.

I plan to plead guilty to DUI, so why do I need an attorney?

If you decide to plead guilty to DUI, you still should have an attorney represent you. Pleading guilty to DUI without an attorney to negotiate on your behalf could land you in jail for up to one year, cause you to pay excessive fines, and lose many privileges. Gregory Hicks and his associates can negotiate with prosecutors to lessen your punishment and obtain the most favorable results for you.

For more information about your case, please contact the Law Office of Gregory A. Hicks at (770) 516-5996.